I’ve Got Friends With Low Expectations

I set a very low expectation of myself for blogging this holiday season and I’m happy to report that, in true overachieving form,  I exceeded it.  I have not written thing one , save for names on tags for Christmas gifts and a few short sentiments on the backs of the Christmas cards I only just sent out yesterday.  My theory was that as long as the cards were postmarked before January 1st, I could call them Christmas Cards.  After that date, they’re New Year’s wishes.

This Christmas stands in stark contrast to last when Patrick and I arrived home from a four day hospital stay on Christmas Eve.  It was his second knee replacement in three months, and proved to be far worse to recover from (though we couldn’t have known that at the time) than first one back the prior September.  This year, we were home the whole time!  I got a chance to decorate and, working from home, enjoy the decorations and really take my time this year.  Oh, there were some stress points (eBay?  I AM TALKiNG TO YOU AND YOUR IDIOT POLICiES) but we made it to the Big Day in good form.

The only one who was disappointed on Christmas morning was Michael, and I’m still not quite sure why.  I think probably it had to do with the fact that his list consisted of every known electronic gadget on the market, and all the poor lad got from the list was a Nook Color.  Try as I might to explain to him that, contrary to the Pinterest quip, Mom does not, in fact, stand for “Made Of Money”, he was still disappointed.  And because he has these enormous green-ish eyes that fill completely to the brim with tears that drop in HUGE gushers down his roly-poly cheeks when he is upset, he gets to ride in the front seat whenever we go someplace with just me and the other two kids.  It’s my way of balancing his universe so that he doesn’t end up on Jerry Springer.  For not getting an iPad, iTouch, laptop, Nintendo 3DS, iPhone 4S, and video camera all for Christmas one year.

In other news, I completed my second December Daily and am very happy with it.  I love the format and know that once the kids are grown and out of the house, I will really cherish these books and will know that the time spent on them was totally worth it.  =)

Tomorrow is the start of the New Year, of course, and I know I can’t be the only one ready for 2011 to end.  My plan for the rest of today was to write down a list of all of the horrible things that have happened this year, all of the sad things and frustrating things and things I wish I could do over, and then burn the list.  The burn ban has been lifted so that won’t even be illegal!  SCORE.  But then I realized that that would mean spending time reliving many of those moments as I wrote them down, and I decided to just leave well enough alone.  No, there’s no need to go back over all the awful stuff…I’d rather spend my last hours of this year looking forward to the next one.  So the plan has now changed to dinner and a movie and watching the ball drop in NYC and then more than likely, falling asleep on the couch at 11:02 pm, local time.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Cheers,

Steph

Feedback. I can handle it, promise.

